Summer of thoughts…

“I have learned silence from the talkative, toleration from the intolerant, and kindness from the unkind; yet, strange, I am ungrateful to those teachers.” — Khalil Gibran

+ Summer is here again full of delicious fruits and thrilling colors. While I am tasting all the beauties of this great season I have to think more about the future which is coming closer to me. I am passing 30 this summer (26th June), a magical number which makes you think and recall what you have passed behind. By a simple search on the Web, a plethora of posts related to Turning 30 just pops up. “30 Life Lessons From 30 Years“, “30 Things To Do Before Turning 30“, “Life doesn’t end at 29…“, “30 Things Turning 30 in 2014” and much more. I think it is not that difficult to evaluate your performance; you just need to look at your past, your present and the goals you have in mind for future. Fortunately, I do not feel upset and disappointed when assessing my past and current status, just having a kind of feeling being a tiny dot in the infinite universe of knowledge. The more you walk, the more deterministic you become that you are nothing unless your thoughts, your believes and your passion count. This blog post seems to be very philosophical which is not strange and unpredictable. The truth is I am impressed by the effect of 30!

+ Last week I attended ESWC 2014 conference in Greece. It was the third time I experienced Mediterranean atmosphere in Greece, exactly the same twenty but from a different perspective. I think this trip was one of the memorable ones because ended by achieving the 1st prize of AI Mashup Challenge 2014. I presented conTEXT in the in-use track as well as the AI Mashup challenge (my presentation on SlideShare and SlideWiki). I met a bunch of nice people there and enjoyed attending the presentations, keynotes, posters and demos (See Paul Groth blog for an overview). our AKSW group was quite successful in the conference (see acheivements).

+ Another nice achievement we received recently was winning the creative innovation project award 2014 for OpenCourseWare excellence. I think SlideWiki has a great potential to position itself as a collaborative hub for open educational content, similar to the role Wikipedia plays for Encyclopedic knowledge.

+ My paper describing the WYSIWYM concept — What You See Is What You Mean, finally got accepted at Semantic Web Journal. It was very important for me because WYSIWYM plays a crucial role in my PhD thesis!

+ We released a new version of RDFaCE for compliance with the new version of TinyMCE and WordPress. Actually, it still needed time to fix some of the previous bugs and to complete the new features but since I was too busy with other projects, I thought having a basic working version is better than nothing at the moment!

Summer fruits AKSW friends
Disseration ESWC cake
Beach

Leave a Reply

